Dumont Condos – Our Story PT II – The Lost Chapter

I almost forgot about options time. This fits into the time period of our Dumont Story Pt. II so, Here is an extra tidbit.

Many of my conversations with Seth Barkman at the Dumont Condos/McWIlliams-Ballard sales office were fascinatingly blond since he never seemed to have an answer to a question. One of my favorites was when he told me I was annoying (yes, I have witnesses to that). I am annoying, when I ask a question, I want an answer. If you are earning commission off something I am buying, earn it.

Anyhow, we asked numerous times about options and no one ever had a clue when it would be. According to the contract, contract holders had up to 30 days from their first written notice to select options before the developer would make a choice for them. Somewhere around December 15, 2007 we received an email from Seth saying we needed to select options before December 30th or the developer would do it for us.

When we arrived we went with another contract holder at the Dumont who is a friend of ours. We pointed out to Seth that they were violating their own contract by not giving the 30 days the contract promised. He asked us not to mention that to anyone else. We also refused to sign a clause that they tried to slip into the options agreement that said they had until June to deliver the units. We did not agree to this clause, because we felt 2 years was long enough. 

I just wanted to be sure everyone understood that the developer themselves violated the contract and they have many contract holders that are talking about getting out.

Stay tuned for Our Dumont Story Pt. III AND a special article from the Washington Post that explains how contractor delays, etc. do not fall under force majeure and courts do not uphold such as a reason to keep a deposit.

Explore posts in the same categories: DC Area Condo Info, Dumont Condos, Mt. Vernon Triangle, Our Dumont Condo Story, Penn Quarter/Chinatown

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment