Dumont Condos – More Than Words

First, contract holders get a letter saying the sales team has been terminated. Second, real estate listings for the building are pulled. Now- no work is being done at the Dumont. We live across the street and there is always work being done on Saturday. Today – NOTHING! Silence.

Anyone have more details to share?

Explore posts in the same categories: DC Area Condo Info, Dumont Condos, Mt. Vernon Triangle, Penn Quarter/Chinatown

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Dumont Condos – More Than Words”

  1. a.z. Says:

    That’s strange… is they’re going rental they need to finish building anyway, right?

  2. Rich Says:

    My wild ride with McWilliams-Ballard…

    OK. I’ll try and make this as short and sweet as possible. After 25 years, my partner and I decided to call it quits. After our separation, I decided that it would be in my better interest to purchase a new home. This journey began in the spring of 2007.

    After much research, I decided to go with The Yale Steam Laundry project. I’ve always loved the building and the idea of moving there was appealing on many levels. Thus my first encounter with McWilliams-Ballrd (M-B). I arranged an appointment; was given a tour of the construction site, and, the yet-unfinished condo that I had my eye on. Although still a shell…it had everything that I was looking for. At first blush, I was quite taken by the M-B team and placed my trust in them.

    My loan application was approved and it took no time to draw up a fully ratified contract. I was told to expect a November closing. At this point, I was still very happy with the M-B team.

    Then came the delays. I was patient because I fully understood that construction overruns do occur and was prepared to wait it out.

    Then came the deception. They assured me that the building was “close” to closure…just be patient…that the contractor never communicates or leaves them in the loop I find this excuse a bit odd because if I were under a Listing Agreement with a developer…I would make damned sure that I had a symbiotic relationship with them. However, this assurance was delivered with a big, toothy smile and a back-handed compliment. At this point, the veneer started peeling away.

    Then came the lies. I received a telephone call from M-W staff informing me that although I had a FULLY RATIFIED CONTRACT on my condo, they were pulling it because it had ALREADY BEEN SOLD earlier to an investor purchaser who was seeking a buyer because she wanted out of the deal. Thus M-W carried TWO contracts on the SAME unit. They gave me some flimsy excuse and told me to remain patient and that they would “work it out.” A week or so later, I get another telephone call from M-W sales and they advise me to move on because, at that point, they were not sure that the building would go to closure and that it would probably go rental. Not only did I think the double-sale tactic was unethical…I was pretty sure that it also might be illegal.

    Feeling defeated…I got back online and started my research…again.

    I wanted to stay in the neighborhood because I lived in The Mather on G Street for four years and loved the convenience and close proximity to everything that the neighborhood has to offer. I looked at a few of the larger projects the were moving forward in that area and found The Dumont. I loved the floor plans and I made an appointment to visit the offsite showroom. However, I had serious apprehensions when I realized The Dumont was another M-B project. I even expressed those concerns with the M-B staff at The Dumont. However, when I saw the finishes I was completely impressed with this construction project. It had SO much to offer amenity-wise and the price was right. Again, I sign a fully ratified contract and was told to expect closing sometime in April…maybe May.

    Then I wait. And wait. And wait. No word from M-B. I call and they tell me that I should expect closing in mid-June. I’m patient.

    At the same time, my lease expires and my landlord graciously allows me to rent on a month-to-month basis until I move to closing. He just asked that I give him plenty of notice so he can list the apartment to a new tenant without a lag in time.

    Then, in late June, I receive the LETTER from M-B. They advise me that I was moving to closure in August and that I needed to get my “ducks in a row.” I lock in to a good interest rate…but I paid an additional $1500.00 for a 120-day lock-in in the event that we didn’t go to closing in August.

    August came and went. I’m beginning to lose my good sense of humor. When I question M-B staff…I get the “lack of communications with the developer” rap again…just as they did with the Yale project.

    Then I’m told that closings would take place either in mid-to-late September to mid-October. In the meantime, my landlord has leased my apartment and the new tenant will move in on the 1st of October.

    Then on the 19th…I get the LETTER advising me that M-W has severed its contractual relationship with the developer. Now, I’m in complete panic mode. I have a week to find a place to live. I don’t know where I stand with my deposit. I try to run down the telephone number for the developer. They don’t have one…although they are located in the Senate Square project,…scary.

    So here I am on the 20th. No condo. No sense of where I go…or what my next steps should be. Should I bring in an attorney? Should I hold on for a few more months and hope for the best? I’m at a loss.

    Am I stunned. You bet. Am I surprised? No. I place this mess squarely on the shoulders of M-W management, although the developer hasn’t been ethical, either.

    I apologize for the long-winded post, but, I just needed to vent.

    I guess that I could have summed up my experience with M-W in two short words.

    Caveat emptor.


Leave a comment